South East England and South London

The South East England and South London (SESL) region comprises 22 local authorities grouped into eight sub regions – Surrey, Sussex and Brighton & Hove, Kent, Medway, Hampshire and the Isle of Wight, Portsmouth and Southampton, South East London and South West London.

There is a total of 3,288 schools in the SESL region, 1,003 of which are academies (31%).

86.9% of schools have achieved a good or outstanding Ofsted rating. School performance at KS2 and KS4 across the local authorities is higher than the national average with 15 LAs having an average score above the national threshold in Progress 8 and 16 having an average score above the national threshold in Reading, Writing and Maths.

775 (77%) academies are in a multi-academy trust (MATs) and there are 211 MATs in the region, of which 76 have more than four academies.  Two local authorities have 100% of academies in MATs and over 75% of academies in half our local authorities are in MATs.

We have 156 SESL sponsors. We are focusing on developing our MATs and sponsors to ensure that we have strong trusts able to support new academies and each other, as well as maintained schools across the region.

We are proactively supporting the work of Academy Ambassadors and are seeking to place an increasing number. We would encourage any business leaders who feel they could provide the expertise and business knowledge that a new MAT needs to contact Academy Ambassadors.

Dominic Herrington, Regional Schools Commissioner for South East and South London



Above is a map of MATs currently operating in SESL