North West London South Central

The North West London and South Central (NWLSC) comprises 27 local authorities grouped into three sub-regions – West (Oxfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Bracknell Forest, West Berkshire, Reading, Slough, Windsor & Maidenhead and Wokingham), North (Bedford, Central Bedfordshire, Luton, Hertfordshire, Milton Keynes and Northamptonshire) and London (Barnet, Brent, Camden, City of London, Enfield, Ealing, Harrow,  Hammersmith & Fulham, Hounslow, Hillingdon, Islington, Kensington & Chelsea and Westminster).

There is a total of 3,003 schools in the NWLSC region, 1,076 of which are academies (36%).

86% of schools inspected have achieved a good or outstanding Ofsted judgement. School performance at KS2 and KS4 across the local authorities is higher than the national average, with 22 LAs having an average score above the national threshold in Progress 8, and 18 having an average score above the national threshold in Reading, Writing and Maths.

785 (73%) academies are in a multi-academy trust (MAT) and there are 224 MATs in the region, of which 95 (42%) have more than four academies.  One local authority has 100% of academies in MATs, and over 50% of academies in 14 of our local authorities are in MATs.

We have 142 NWLSC sponsors. We are focusing on developing our MATs and sponsors to ensure that we have strong trusts able to support new academies and each other, as well as maintained schools across the region.

We are proactively supporting the work of Academy Ambassadors and are seeking to place an increasing number. We would encourage any business leaders who feel they could provide the expertise and business knowledge that a new MAT needs to contact Academy Ambassadors.